The Hudson Cafe- Relive the College Days 

12030761_10207683586757801_911137484_n

Nothing can be better than good ol’ college days when I used to sneak out of the boring lectures with my friends to go and visit some place where we could sit, chat and enjoy our time over a few snacks and drinks without burning a hole in our pocket. My visit to The Hudson Cafe in GTB Nagar, North Campus reminded me of my college days (which ended not so long ago), the only difference being that my pocket wasn’t getting affected as it was an invite based event with my fellow foodies.
Located at a distance of about 5-10 minutes of walk from the metro station on the first floor, The Husdon Cafe is an addition to the already existing plethora of cafes here that has made its presence felt in the last few months.

A spirit of jovility assailes when one walks into the Hudson cafe which is filled with students struggling with their study and dating life combined with a tight budget. The portion sizes that they serve are good enough to be shared, for both the drinks and the dishes. Their menu is such that every palate would get satisfied in some form or the other. The moment I entered, I had my attention on the red glass chandelier and the quirky interiors which are created with pastel hues and a ceiling with mirrors all over.

12064299_10207683586597797_186600432_n

After walking, I was in need of something to drink and I tried the very refreshing and reviving basil orange drink which turned out to be the perfect drink to beat the heat. The virgin sangria, which was nice and fruity was fairly good too. But the limelight was stolen by their thick delux shakes- the dark load, peanut butter and ferro rocher shake. If you like your shake to be chocolaty, then it has to be The Dark Load. Without doubt it is a must try.
My meal started with the Chinese Bhel which had a riot of flavours in my mouth but sadly had become a little soggy. The Peri peri chicken wings are something that one should not miss at any cost, while the BBQ chicken strips can be skipped as the ones I got were a little chewy(probably over cooked).

I tried their Mac n cheese and Vegetable lasagna, both of which were loaded with cheese and turned out to be absolutely delicious. The fish that they serve in fish and chips is crumb coated and not battered fish. I would advice if they could add on an option to choose between the two and hence make me happier the next time I visit 🙂

12071507_10207683587237813_1977344594_n
Everything was going good and then came Pork Vindaloo and Maska Pao, which was so delicious that it made me forget everything for a second. Pork belly cooked in spices and served along with pao. This was the best dish among all the other dishes, Period. I am coming back for this without doubt.

After all this, it was time to dig into some desserts and satisfy my sweet tooth. I started with the red velvet pastry which even though was moist, lacked when it came to the icing. The paan falooda sundae was a very unique take on my ever favourite kulfi falooda. The ice cream was topped with gulkand which added the quintessential pan-like flavour.

12053354_10207683587477819_421235814_n The chocolate waffles were warm and crisp, topped with chocolate sauce and served along with maple syrup, honey and vanilla ice cream. I would turn all desserts aside for the Brownie sunday which is so indulgent that I wouldn’t want to share it with anybody.
Overall, my experience at The Hudson Cafe was a good one. It is definitely a place that one would want to visit with friends over a good meal. I would want them to open up branches soon, especially somewhere in South Delhi 😉

Rating-

Food-3.5/5

Service-4/5

Ambiance-3.5/5

The Hudson Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

