A bold and unusual entrant in Sector 29, Gurgaon: Chull

In a line: A quirky new entrant in Sector 29 market, Gurgaon.

Cuisine: Multi-cuisine

Price for two: Rs. 1500(approx)

Location: Sector 29, Gurgaon

Must haves: Tandoori momos


To survive in today’s cut throat competition, it becomes imperative for restaurants to go an extra mile and stand out from the crowd, get some eye balls and thereby, get the business rolling. Keeping this in mind, a restaurant that is bold, not only when it comes to its name itself, but with its logo, ambiance and menu, Chull, aims to break social taboos with its kinky themed ambiance that is marked by quirky and eccentric wall murals and typical Delhi slangs that add to the quirk element of the restaurant.

Located up on the fifth floor, Chull is one restaurant in Sec 29 market that has one of the most beautiful views of the entire market. The menu follows the same theme as that of the restaurant and takes an off-beat approach with either the name of a dish or with its recipe. From the unusual fondue made of dal makhni or pav bhaaji to nibblers which they’ve named as “Foreplay” to MC-BC desserts, you know you’re in for a treat with their offerings.

Last weekend, while it was drizzling, I decided to start my meal with a bowlful of Thele ki Geeli Maggi, that lived up to its name of being a typical street style maggi that was replete with vegetables and green chillies. In accord with the beautiful weather, I ordered raseele tandoori momos that were packed generously with juicy chicken mince, and were served with green chutney.

While the drinks menu was certainly very interesting, I decided to go sober in the afternoon and ended up with a glass of rose and kafir lime ice tea, which though may seem odd, turned out to be rather good.

Cheese is no less than a weakness, and I had to give in to trying their tandoori chicken naanza. A take to Indian-ise the beloved pizza, not only in terms of topping but with the base itself, this tandoori chicken naanza faired pretty well. I did find myself guilty of dabbing a bit of green chutney, because why not? 😛

I appreciate how the mains have been simply listed in the form of platters, making it easier for someone to order without getting confused. A quick heads up: each platter is good enough to feed two hungry souls which I obviously wasn’t aware of while ordering! I got myself a keema parantha platter and a butter chicken platter. While I would have appreciated with keema paratha to be accompanied along with some spicy curry and not just dal makhni, the butter chicken platter was an unpretentious and wholesome meal.

The fact that they have homemade ice cream in the menu got me excited, but alas, I couldn’t get my hands on it since it wasn’t in stock! Ultimately to end my meal on a sweet note, I settled down with a portion of warm dark chocolate and walnut brownie along with ice cream, which inspite of being an understated combination, can never fail to impress!

Confession: Overall, my meal at this unique themed restaurant turned out to be much better than what I had expected. I am certainly going to pay Chull a visit on an evening, where I would try the cocktails and hopefully their homemade ice cream. Fingers crossed!

Rating:

Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Ambience: 4/5
Value for money: 4/5

Chull Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

 

 

Leave a Reply

